Panasonic G85 auto focus - help needed!

Edit My Images
No
new G80 owner and despite reading the (advanced) user manual twice, reading all I can & YouTube videos, I am still getting into a pickle with Auto Focus. My Canon 80D seems much easier but that's probably because I've used it (and the 70D) for so long!
Can anyone please explain or confirm my understanding of the following;

Video/movie mode - provided I have "Continuous AF" set to on in the movie settings menu, the camera will continually re-focus providing I have the rear switch (the one surrounding the AF/AE lock button) set to either AFS/AFF or AFC. Is this correct?
Does the video AF use the AF mode previously set. i.e. 49-area, custom, tracking, 1 area, pinpoint or does it "do its own thing"? I have tried my own tests but they have proved inconclusive.

Photo mode
If I set AFC on the rear dial and half press the shutter button, the camera attempts to refocus on objects according to how i've set the AF area, but in so doing, the image in the EVF and on the LCD can best be described as "jittery" even when the camera remains on a static object. Any idea why this happens? It rather puts me off using AFC in any circumstances!
If I set AFS/AFF on the rear dial and also have "Quick AF" set to on in the menu, the camera attempts to refocus (sometimes not very quickly or accurately) even when not pressing the shutter button. I don't undertsand why or perhaps just don't understand what "Quick AF" is doing and whether its best to leave it on or off by default.

Thanks in advance for any help with these issues.

Last edited:
I haven't used a G80 but Sony use the same "Quick Af" function and t basically means that the camera constantly changes focus on whatever is within the selected focus points, even when you're not half-pressing the shutter. The idea behind it is that it's already focused before you press the shutter but in reality it just causes the battery to flatten more quickly so I've always switched it off.