Peaches - C&C Please :)

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
No
Hi,

I'm pretty new here and I'm pretty new to photography.
I just thought i would submit a few recent photos for C&C.

These ones are of my friend Helen's pets.

Angry_Peaches_by_syeuk2002.jpg

Washing_Day_by_syeuk2002.jpg

Peaches_Patio_1_by_syeuk2002.jpg

Peaches_Patio_3_by_syeuk2002.jpg

I'm really looking for brutal criticism . What would YOU do to make these photos better?

Many Thanks

Simon
:)

Ok, you wanted brutal ;)

1st shot you are looking down on the dog, most (not all) animal shots work best if you can get down to their level, the bacground clutter is a bit off putting too.

2) SOrry does nothing for me at all, too much other stuff going on i dont know which the focal point is, the washing basket or the dog or even the gate

3) Not bad, would be much better on grass, with a level horizon and no clutter

4) probably the best in my eyes anyway a bit bright on the levels front and still a lot of clutter in the background.

Can you get your friend to take the dog to a field for a walk and lay down and get some shots of it running about with just greenery around and behind it ? or is it likely to maul or lick you to death ? ;)

Okay, here's "brutal"......sorry.

To me they are "snaps" and not "portraits"....simply just everyday snaps. I suspect that you think the same and that's why you've asked for criticism.

I have a similar problem in that I'm not very artistic and that's something that is hard to learn. I avoid landscapes and portraits for this very reason and take macro, wildlife and alike so that I get some satisfaction from the more technical side of the shot. My wife who is techno-phobic, but very artistic, takes lovely portraits and landscapes and I'm left admiring the shot but being critical of the technical aspects.

However.....