Phantom power V battery

Name
Neil
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm very new to video audio and have recently bought a Rode NTG2 shotgun microphone to use with my Zoom H1n recorder. l don't have Phantom power so only using the battery option. Can anyone in the know tell me if there is a difference in volume levels when using Phantom as l'm quite disappointed with the battery option?

Niel, I'm not terribly up on how sound recording interlocks with video work ,but I do record music ,so know a tiny bit about mics. To the best of my knowledge the battery or phantom power from the board( mic pre) don't make alot of difference . Very simply mic signals are small. the are boosted by somehing called a pre amp. Pre amp's are incredibly important as they make a small signal big and with that boost noise same as us boosting a singal in camera. So they can be incedibly pricey as their unique sound is valued and alot that ability to have a low noise floor.. Anyway on the recorder you have a pre and maybe on that pre there is a boost switch to deal with low signals from mics??

I'm a bit old skool,mainly usiing analogue bar digi keys and recorder. I'm also just making my first video, so as of yet haven't broached sound and how it's typicically used with camera work

Buddy why don't you have a chat with rhode, i've no contact info but some of the mic companies are incredibly helpful. Is there any data re outputs and phantom?

Mate it might be your expectations are too high ? ,I thought you would have a few more replies by now, but as it is you got me,sorry I can't be precise for ya bro, it's years since I used a mic like this,I don't remember any issuse but it's been a good while

stu