Photobucket - Selling users prints?????

Messages
576
Name
Neil Thompson
Edit My Images
Yes
Ive been using Photobucket for ages to host most of my shots just for storage and for posting on places like this for advice.

I had always noticed the "Buy Prints" button whilst doing stuff when i am logged in. I was on the other halfs computer last night and went in to pick some shots for a comp. I didnt log in and just typed in my user name.

I went into my album and still noticed the "Buy Prints" option:thinking:

I decided to click it, expecting to be told to set up an account or upload photos :eek::eek::eek:

I was able to go into all my ablums and pick any photo! I went as far as entering the delivery address (everything was in $) and not once was there anything questioning if i had any right to print them! Or the account owner got anything out of them selling the users prints :thumbsdown:

I have all my online stuff saved low-res so even a 6x4 will be ropey but im really not impressed that someone could have potentially (very doubtful though :lol:) have some of my shots printed somewhere and i dont know about it.

Ive never read anything from photobucket that stated they were allowed to sell my photos to others, gonna check the t&c's and see what to do.

Anyone else notice this?
 
From their T&C's.

Proprietary Rights in Content on Photobucket.

*

6.1 Photobucket does not claim any ownership rights in the text, files, images, photos, video, sounds, musical works, works of authorship, applications, or any other materials (collectively, "Content") that you post on or through the Photobucket Services. By displaying or publishing ("posting") any Content on or through the Photobucket Services, you hereby grant to Photobucket and other users a non-exclusive, fully paid and royalty-free, worldwide, limited license to use, modify, delete from, add to, publicly perform, publicly display, reproduce and translate such Content, including without limitation distributing part or all of the Site in any media formats through any media channels, except Content marked "private" will not be distributed outside the Photobucket Services. Photobucket and/or other Users may copy, print or display publicly available Content outside of the Photobucket Services, including without limitation, via the Site or third party websites or applications (for example, services allowing Users to order prints of Content or t-shirts and similar items containing Content). After you remove your Content from the Photobucket Website we will cease distribution as soon as practicable, and at such time when distribution ceases, the license to such Content will terminate. If after we have distributed your Content outside the Photobucket Website you change the Content’s privacy setting to "private," we will cease any further distribution of such "private" Content outside the Photobucket Website as soon as practicable.

It's a similar case with facebook too iirc.
 
Yep, for about £12 a year (and the assistance of someone who can operate a computer) i have my hosting. After a couple of years of using photobucket it really is the way of the future.
 
Back
Top