Photographers Assistant

Name
Rebecca
Edit My Images
No
Hello everyone :) im currently in my last year at uni and i need to start thinking about ways to get into the photographic industry, i'm quite keen on doing some assisting for experience, i have done some studio assisting but not a photographer. Is there any advice you could give me in order to obtain some assisting experience?

would also be great to hear from some photographers who have assisted :)

Much Appreciated :D

I know you've mentioned studio, but is there a particular side to the industry you want to get involved with? Are you looking to be staff or freelance in the future?

I know you've mentioned studio, but is there a particular side to the industry you want to get involved with? Are you looking to be staff or freelance in the future?

well my photographic genre is documentary/autobiographical, but i have done studio based work, portraits etc, at the moment i am not quite sure i would rather be staff then have to do all my own taxes and insurance, which can be a nightmare lol

xxxRebeccaxxx said:
well my photographic genre is documentary/autobiographical, but i have done studio based work, portraits etc, at the moment i am not quite sure i would rather be staff then have to do all my own taxes and insurance, which can be a nightmare lol

Salaried assistants are pretty rare, get yourself self employed. Pretty simple :)

Read Tom Miles' blog posts on assisting on 'photosmudger' blog, very good stuff. Theres a fair amount of work for the right people with good assisting skills in London, freelance.