Photographing tennis

Name
Gerry
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been asked to take photos of my godson playing tennis - action shots. I have never done this before and obviously want to get it right.

I have 70-200 f4.0, 17-55 f2.8 and a nifty fifty. What would best lens be to use and what settings? It will be outdoors. I will be using a canon 40d

Thanks in advance

I'm far from experienced at shooting tennis, having only shot for my tennis club's finals day once a year for the past two years, so take my advice with a pinch of salt. Firstly I'd stick with the 70-200 in order to keep a safe distance between me and the hurtling ball. I can't see a 17-55 or 50 being much fun when faced with any mis-hits. I'd be shooting at widest aperture for some subject separation through background blur and also to allow faster shutter speeds (1/1000 or faster) without raising the ISO more than would be comfortable.

I find timing the shot tricky, and shooting across court makes this even more challenging. Shooting down the court should help and will make that longer lens more valuable too.

Here are some examples, hopefully with EXIF still intact....
20120916_144855_3743_LR.jpg

20120916_165454_3923_LR.jpg

20120916_172831_4005_LR.jpg

20120916_181505_4099_LR.jpg

They are exactly what I am looking for thanks.

When you say shooting down the court do you mean position self in other side of net from where he is?

Yes. You can still shoot from the side of the court, but head maybe half way between the net and the opponent's baseline so that you are shooting more in line with the travel of the ball. This might give you a fraction more time to see the ball enter the frame and react before it has disappeared again.

Of course, this does all rather depend on your Godson's age and the speed of play.

However, try varying your position and shooting angles, but remember to stay safe. A ball hit at 100mph+ is probably not much fun if it hits you in the face or smashes into your gear.