Photography Group "Close-up" Project

Name
Errr Pete?
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm a member of our local photographic society (http://www.salfordphotographicgroup.org.uk for those that may be interested), at our last meeting night we have planned a "close-up" night for Feb.

I'm presuming, but don't know for sure, they mean "macro".

This has got me quite excited as I've never done this before and really eager to give it a go, particularly as I've had my new 50D less than a month, and looking for a few pointers from the ever helpful guys on this forum.

I've trawled a few threads in this macro section for ideas, but, they seem to be predominently bugs and flowers, which, in Jan and Feb, are rarer than rocking horse excrement, (yeah there are winter flowering things I've heard people rabbiting on about, but my hobby is photography, not f**ting around in the garden, nothing flowers in our garden at this time of the year).

So I'd love any suggestions, my lenses are Canon 50 1.4, Canon 24-105, Sigma 10-20, and perhaps the best for this, Sigma 70-300 APO Macro, along with with a decent Manfrotto tripod and head.

Some things have already got me thinking like, I've seen very narrow depths of fields with macro photography, which I find quite impressive.

I suppose the usual comes into play like a large aperture, but don't things like distance from lens to subject have a bearing too?

Any and all advice, particularly suggestions for subjects, would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation.

Pete

the sigma is not ideal! you have to be miles away to get anywhere near the 1:2 mag ration it gives.
best bet is to get some ext tubes and put it between the 24/105

:welcome:
and whats wrong with bugs and flowers ? i like them :D