Photoshop-colours are not showing as shot

Name
Sam
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all - newbie here, 6d, studying photography.
Have just found an issue when opening shots to edit in photoshop and am hoping someone has a simple explanation! :) (user error likely!)
I like shooting with the colour settings on my camera quite vibrant, it’s become almost my own styling.

So I’m just looking at a load of photos from Peru, where there’s gorgeous vibrant blues and reds and oranges. They are showing as shot as thumbnails in file explorer. However when I open them in PS, they are at once toned down and dull and sludgy. I can see the contrast when have both windows open in explorer and PS.
It’s hugely different. White balance is: as shot
And I can’t seem to get the colouring back to what it was. I just want to make other adjustments, straighten a few, cropping etc in PS. Am rather happy with the original colours and most of the exposures (though I am new to this and am probably missing a trick!)
How do I get PS to stay faithful?
I checked and it’s RGB and North American general purpose 2 (I looked this up already)
But beyond that I’m stuck!
Thanks guys!
Happy new year!

Hi & Happy New Year to you too.

Can I surmise that when you say you have set the camera to give 'the colours as you want them' you are refering to one of the user presets in camera? These presets only affect the JPEGs, for whatever reason (I am not sure?) the Windows file explorer is colour compliant but PS is not................I think I recall reading ages ago about these differences but age is against me to recall that oddity???

If so then what you are seeing PS is that it cannot and will not exactly honour the Canon presets............................if you want to see them exactly the same you will need to load the Canon software that came with the camera call DDP (or is it DPP???) that will honour and show those JPEG settings as set.