Polarizing Filters: Advice needed

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
No
I am quite new to photography and I was looking at the above kind of filter and was hoping that someone could answer me a simple question.

I have a Canon 40D, TTL metering I think, so if the filter is on the front of the lens, will the camera adjust the exposure as necessary or do I have to manually adjust? Or am I totally off track?! :bonk:

Thanks in advance!

I am quite new to photography and I was looking at the above kind of filter and was hoping that someone could answer me a simple question.

I have a Canon 40D, TTL metering I think, so if the filter is on the front of the lens, will the camera adjust the exposure as necessary or do I have to manually adjust? Or am I totally off track?! :bonk:

Thanks in advance!

The camera will adjust the exposure for you as it is taking the light reading through the filter.

You can set exposure to whatever you wish, but you dont need to.
Make sure its not linear you need the circular as this works with Dslr and the Linear rather doesnt.

I have 58mm Linear polarizer and have never noticed a problem with it. In fact it gives stronger effect than my 77mm CPL.

The Linear tends to muck up the metering through the lens unless you dont have beam splitters, i think thats it. Too techy for me.

Camera will sort the exposure for you with a polariser no problem. Just rotate it for the best effect and away you go.

Linear polarisers are supposed to give a fractioanally stronger polarising effect than circular (it's not the physical shape!) but they can muck things up at certain angles because of the beam splitter in the camera's mirror. And it's very hard to get a non-circular polariser these days for that reason.