Poor Monitor Image Quality

Edit My Images
Yes
Hey up.... bit of help needed please! :help:

just wondering of anybody could shed some light on my problem…

I have a Philips PHP-X19 19inch flat gloss screen monitor.

This (sorry for the ebay link all i could find!): http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/19-inch-Phillips-Flatscreen-Monitor-Faulty_W0QQitemZ330313077768QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Computing_ComputerComponents_Monitors?hash=item330313077768&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1690%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

My images look very un-sharp and just poor quality. I have tried photoshop, the windows viewer and Olympus master 2 to view, With them all the quality is not great.

But… once uploaded onto flickr they come to life and look sharp and as they should do! Why wont the editing packages do this?

the monitor is set to quality setting, 1024x768, highest colour quality thro the NVIDIA set up window (what ever that is!)

i have played around but im no PC expert and cant fix it by trial and error!

Any advice greatly apperciated. Many thankls in advance :)

bob

Are you saying they look ok on flickr using the same monitor?
Or that you upload them and look at them on somebody else's monitor and they look good?

I cant find any specifications on your particular monitor....
But to start with, to get the best picture quality out of a LCD screen it needs to be set to its native resolution and i`m pretty sure that 1024x768 is not its native resolution.
Most 19" screens have a native resolution of 1440 x 900. Try setting it to this and see if its any better.

I cant find any specifications on your particular monitor....
But to start with, to get the best picture quality out of a LCD screen it needs to be set to its native resolution and i`m pretty sure that 1024x768 is not its native resolution.
Most 19" screens have a native resolution of 1440 x 900. Try setting it to this and see if its any better.