Prime Lenses for D40?

Edit My Images
Yes
I see a lot of reference to the nifty fifty and such like, but I feel a little left out due to the lack of AF motor in my D40, so in light of that what do you knowledgable 'togs' recommend as a good prime lens for this camera - be it a nikon lens or even a third party (sigma, tamron etc.?)

I'm looking for a decent portrait lens and a wider lens for landscapes.

I've had a brief look through the ads in the latest 'digital photo' magazine, but i'm really new to digital SLR's so i don't know what it is that I should be looking for.

CIA (Cheers in Advance).

I think Messiah Khan had a similar problem recently and if I remember it well, he got himself a 30 mm HSM Sigma. You might want to drop him a PM if he won't appear in here.

Lol, almost by magic I appear :D;

A month or so ago I was looking for exactly the same; a fast (<f2.8) normal to slightly wide angle prime lens for my D40X. In the end I went with the Sigma 30mm f1.4. 30mm on the 1.5X crop body equates to 45mm, which is near the 'normal' fov of a 50mm on a full frame camera. I also like the slightly wider fov for portrait work and its wide enough to be used as a landscape lens. From the small amount ive used it so far... I love it. Its tack sharp in the center, and perfectly acceptible sharpness at the edges, and the f1.4 means I can shoot low light shots that weren't possible before with my other lenses. Finally the ultra narrow dof for achieved by the f1.4 makes for some great creative options.

:)

now that is quick service! Thanks Messiah/Slapo I'll have to have a look around the sites for prices, any idea's of which ones offer a good price?

Finally - these lenses with their own motor; i'm assuming these can still be used on a better body such as a D80 or D200?

now that is quick service! Thanks Messiah/Slapo I'll have to have a look around the sites for prices, any idea's of which ones offer a good price?