Printer problem

AliB

Suspended / Banned
Edit My Images
No
That is doing my head in!

I'm getting banding across my prints. I'm using an HP Photosmart pro B8350 that I've had for a couple of years now and I've not had this problem before.:thinking:

I've tried new cartridges, I've tried restoring factory settings, I've tried reinstalling the printer drivers, I've tried printing from another application (I use CS3) nothing:thumbsdown:

I'll try printing from a different PC tomorrow to eliminate that but I'm really at my wits end tonight. I've gone through half a box of paper and 50% of a cartridge.

Any ideas folks?:thinking:

I have no knowledge of your particular printer but, my Canon printer has a "printer head" into which the ink cartridges fit. The "printer head" has in the past ceased to function probably and required replacement. The cost of this part is about £50 but I can use "pattern" ink cartridges rather than the hideously expensive Canon ones so it is worth replacing. If your macine has a seperate "printer head" could that be your problem?

My machine has a cleaning routine and a deep cleaning routine in the maintenance routines. Is it worth running your equivalent?

The heads on most HP printers are built into the cartridge which means that as you change your cartridges you change the heads at the same time. This is the advantage with HPs (but the cartridges are more expensive). Have you tried a head alignment run? My HP6280 was having a similar problem till I aligned the heads using the menu system on the front.

If the heads are built in to the printer rather than the heads then you can often clean them (just have a look at the Epson head cleaning project on my web site for ideas!)