Printing Film Scans

Name
Steven
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I'm new to film photography and I have a few rolls which were developed by Film Dev a while back. I'm sure I opted for medium scans which are 3091x2048 @ 72DPI. I am only looking to make 6x4 prints but I expected DPI to be higher than 72. Is 72 DPI normal for negative scans and should it produce decent quality 6x4 images?

Regards,
Steven

the DPI set in the jpg file doesn't matter one iota for these purposes, same as with digital.

You've 3091 x 2048 dots - around 6 mega-pixels in dijikal terms - and when printed on a standard inkjet you get around 300 dots per inch on the print - so call it 10" x 6.8".

the 72dpi resolution is set for screen display purposes.

6mp is definitely good enough for 10x8 prints, probably fine for 16x10's (as long as the viewing distance is going to be more than a couple of feet away - it MAY not stand up to pixel peeping or examination with a jewellers loupe :) )

just to add - if you're scans were taken from 35mm film, they've probably been been scanned at 2000-2400dpi - frame size is 36x24mm or 1.417"x0.944" - which comes out at 2181dpi horizontal and 2169dpi vertical - or, probably more accurately 2000dpi each way, and a degree of "overscan" of the 35mm frame.

Just a couple of small things... it should be PPI not DPI (DPI is a printing term).

It is correct that PPI makes not one iota of difference to screen display and 72PPI is actually a myth, it is the pixel dimensions that count... PPI can and does make a difference to the size an image will print. The OP's 3091 x 2048 at 72PPI will physically print at around 42in x 28in... Change the PPI to 300 without resampling and the physical print size then becomes 10in x 6.5in roughly so yes the files will produce good 6in x 4in prints no problem...