Printing

smr

Name
Joel
Edit My Images
No
I'm a bit confused with printing, as I'm new to this. I've made my first sale on Etsy and have listed the photo as three sizes, the size purchased is 16x20" - in the sample images included I've got the image with a white border around it.

I haven't stipulated anywhere in the description whether the border is included in the 16x20 print or whether the photo itself is 16x20 - what's the standard practice here? I don't want to sell a 16x12 photo(16x20) paper size if the buyer is expecting a 16x20 photo.. hopefully this makes sense.

IMO a print size of the actual print area.....a border to me is needed if it is intended to mount it.

To avoid (future) confusion I think you should declare on your Etsy Shop that (as I outline above) all prints will be printed with a border (state the border width) and that the size described is the actual print area. As in all things YMMV?

PS for mounting IMO the border should be a minimum of 1/2 inch, ideally min 1 inch.

Last edited:
IMO a print size of the actual print area.....a border to me is needed if it is intended to mount it.

To avoid (future) confusion I think you should declare on your Etsy Shop that (as I outline above) all prints will be printed with a border (state the border width) and that the size described is the actual print area. As in all things YMMV?

PS for mounting IMO the border should be a minimum of 1/2 inch, ideally min 1 inch.

Thanks for the reply.

So do you mean that you think of the actual photograph being 20x16 inches, meaning the paper size will be 20x16 inches plus the border size ? I'm not sure what "print" refers to - the photo + the border or the photograph itself?

Now I wonder too, if there's a standard.
I read this from the perspective of a picture which you intend to retain its border, when mounting / framing.
In this case, I've always understood 20x16 to be the corner to corner physical measurement ie paper size.