Pro football - hit me with some inspiration

Name
Claus
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been doing football photography for 15 years. Starting as an absolute amateur, working my way up the ranks. Now shooting danish "Premier League", cup-finals, Champions League, National Team etc. Can't really ask for more, or ... I like my work, my customers do too. But I still think that I need to do better. Always looking how to improve the quality, motives and technically. When the job becomes a routine, I think quality decreases. So, I am looking for input from some of you pro guys.

My two main bodies are Canon 1dxII and 1dx, with a 400 2.8 and 70-200 2.8. Pretty standard, I think. I tend to like the 400mm images most. Which means that I often use the 400mm to shoot in the near penalty area, when positioned behind the goalline, at the corner flag. This can give fantastic shots, but also a lot of misses, as I am to close, really. Using the 70-200, even at 200 mm, I think the background seperation is not star quality, if action is center of goal. I could use my 1.4 extender at the 70-200, which does help of course.

I normally go for 2.8, f/1250, autofocus football but sensitivity +2, single point focus (by the way, can it get more clear to see in the viewfinder?).

My inspiration have always been the top pros. Trying to calculate their position, exif data, gear etc. Using hours surfing at the Getty-site is really inspiring, as well as frustrating.

Please hit me with some inspiration. Is the 400 /70-200 the best combination? Do you fit in the extender? Which positions do you prefer? Which lens for which area in the field? Always 2.8 ?

Preparing for my sixth-in-a-row Cupfinal this coming friday, I would love to get some new ideas how to do the "usual" stuff.

Thank you for reading

Last edited: