Proper Old School

Huh! Well I didn't have the sound on but no wonder his gear looks "worn"....for me in my travelling back pack, wrap everything up in bubble wrap to stop gear bumping into each other but I only carry two cameras and 3 or 4 lenses.depending where I'm going.

I take much more care :D

I have Nikon lenses from 24 to 85mm and I have an earlier Nippon Kogaku badged version of the 50mm f1.4 he has, these lenses have amazing build quality. On thing that I don't like about Nikon lenses is that the controls work the other way compared to my other lenses.

I was a press photographer for a number of years back in film day, my gear wasn't like that.

I think it maybe mostly just comes down to individuals and how they handle and look after "stuff." From your post I think you took care of your gear and so did I. I looked after anything I was issued with during my working life as if it was my own. Some people obviously aren't bothered about kit banging together in a bag.

Yes, his kit is a bit beat up. But for me that is part of the story. If you're romantically inclined and given to flights of fancy, I can imagine them being used in a high pressure environment, in the crush of a press crowd. Where you have to think quick and take your shots while you can.

That Neyekon compact is an MJU, but the reason its there is the same reason one lives in my kit.
It doesn't matter what the kit is, it could be 120 Mamiya/Bronica or Nikon 135 or whatever, If space is tight, I leave a lens out of the kit to keep the MJU in it.
There's a certain measure of honesty in kit that's seen some action, especially old school Nikon, I'm more likely to buy that than pristine plastic..:)

It makes more sense if you listen to him explain how it worked. They belonged to the paper and were used by all their photographers. And he did say that his bag did have dividers.