Beginner Pub Gig Photography

Name
Tony
Edit My Images
Yes
My wifes away this weekend and one of my old bands are playing locally so I am going to watch them as I am depping for them in a few weeks so be nice to meet up and hear the new songs so decided to take my camera and make a full night of it.

They are very much up for the photography aspect and I will have access anywhere including on the "stage" if required ( it's a pub so stage is a grand name for a small postage stamp sized area usually between the toilets and the smokers exit door )

I am totally new to this but read quite a bit on here so these are my thoughts and just checking I am on the right tracks.

Manual setting
Highest ISO ( Fuji bridge which only goes to 1600 )
125 minimum shutter but 250 better
Widest apperture possible
No direct flash ( but ok to bounce some of the roof perhaps occasionally ?? )

They haven't loads of lighting but guess I will have the advantage if I get there early of actually being able to position it where I want :)

Sound like I am on the right track ??

Wish me luck

Expect s***ty light and poor sight lines, with any luck the beer will be decent. Try and avoid flash as it will highlight the pub decor more than it will the band.. you want the pub decor dark and the band lit if at all possible.

Take the camera, go for the craic and treat any photo opportunity as a bonus (y)

Pretty much. At the wide end you can get away with a slower shutter speed. I suspct on your camera at 1600 iso you'll be needing 1/60th to 1/30th though.

Main thing is get it in focus and use a bit of thought to frame it - for guitar bands i'd suggest starting on the left side as that way the shots won't be full of guitar headstocks. Frame it so the mic isn't covering their face and try and get a view where there's light on the faces/no shadows of mics etc.
I usually find I throw away the wider shots and it's the closeups that really work best.