Pub photography

Name
Jon
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello. Hope I can get some constructive help. I have been asked to shoot a friend's 50th in a pub at 19:30...never done that sort of photography before..I have a Nikon D7100, a Nikon Sb600 flash. And a 14-24 Sigma lens. Thanks

Bit of an open question................help with what?

Finding the pub? Flash usage? camera settings? You'll need to narrow it down a bit.

:)

Well you have a camera, a lens and a flashgun - so you should be able to get something :) Don't forget the memory card.

Keep the ISO up ! And have a couple of double whiskies.

Sorry. Yes. Settings and techniques... Been reading and it all seems very conflicting

Hi

I am no expert but this is what I have used:
Set the ISO between 400-800, flash in TTL, camera in Aperture mode at say 5.6, ensure the shutter speed is at least 1/80 and bounce the flash off the ceiling if it is white or a white wall.
Also ensure you shoot in RAW if you don't.

I am sure the experts will give a bit more info.

Thanks

Hi

I am no expert but this is what I have used:
Set the ISO between 400-800, flash in TTL, camera in Aperture mode at say 5.6, ensure the shutter speed is at least 1/80 and bounce the flash off the ceiling if it is white or a white wall.
Also ensure you shoot in RAW if you don't.

I am sure the experts will give a bit more info.

Thanks
I would do the same as Kev also the same (no expert) only I tend to put the camera in manual still start off with f5.6 and 1/80 as Kev says :) Manual just ensures shutter don't drop. I don't notice usually until at some point you press the shutter and it stays open for yonks :-(

Gaz

I used to shoot in pubs ! I used to shoot at about 1/80 second with auto ISO maxed at 1600 with flash bounced at ceiling! You get lighter background and lights and surrounds ...... instead of black background and 2 people with beer in hand in shot!

Last edited: