Q. about digital camcorders

Name
Paul Barsby
Edit My Images
No
First, a confession; I prefer shooting with film and have only recently purchased a digital camera because it's the best tool for a project I'm currently working on. So I'm new to this digtal capture mularkey.

I have another project that has been slowly churning around at the back of my mind and I believe I can only get what I want by using a camcorder. BUT I want static images (screengrabs?) from it.

Is this easy to do or does it involve a steep learning curve? AND what is the quality like compared to (say) a 10mp camera? Obviously 'quality' will vary from model to model but how do you compare the capture quality of a camcorder to a digital camera? (If this makes sense).

All help appreciated.

The actual editing and collection of the image is made easy down to the software that comes with camcorders, or off the shelf stuff ... loads of home movie editing packages available that can export sills etc.

In my limited knowledge... You'd need one serious professional camcorder to get anyway near to reasonable quality in a still, several thousand quid ...to get upto a semi-pro dslr 10mp frame quality you'd probably have to spend ten times as much I reckon.

Ouch! Thanks FB. Pretty much what I was thinking/dreading. I only want 'dip a toe' into this maybe take a small plunge but definitely not leap off a precipice!!!

I think I want to make 30x20ins (maybe larger) prints and I know that that there are apps that can give you good results BUT I need a reasonable quality image to start with. Maybe the 10mp comparison was a bit over-ambitious but whereas I can 'guess' the difference in quality likely from a 1mp camera (given away with 10 litres of petrol) and a 10mp camera or a digital camera to Velvia I'm lost when it comes to comparing a camcorder to a still camera.

I was hoping someone here would have experience with both and save me from having to reinvent the wheel.