Question about taking the sports shot..

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I am fairly new to sports photography and having a reasonable crack at it, but have a question. I was shooting a field hockey match on the weekend with a 80-200 2.8 under flood lights which was a bit of nightmare. Bumped the iso to 1600 and was getting reasonable shutter speeds of 1/250. Using a monopod and that was helping but still only got I guess 50 reasonable shots from about 300. Which I thought was not bad, but I would rather get my ratio down a bit, if only to reduce the amount of lugging through Lightroom after the shoot.

I think my question is this - When taking the shots, should I pan and move the camera with the action almost following the action..Or should I fix a point on the pitch and let the action come into the frame and snap? Or is it both?

I'll drop a couple of the best shots I took in a bit but can't help feeling more luck of the draw as I took so many rather than actually any skill you know?Any help would be greatly appreciated and apologies if this sort of question has already been asked before!

Thanks,

A

Redland3rdOBs-76_600x400.jpg

Redland3rdOBs-12_600x400.jpg

Redland3rdOBs-33_600x399.jpg

Camera on continuous focus and follow the action - when it gets close enough and fills the frame shoot in bursts. 50 from 300 is good!

Fill the frame is the best bit of advice when under floodlights...you have a 2.8 lens so the only other things you can do is a longer lens and up your body for one that has higher iso capabilities.

Hello again,

I remember seeing some of your shots earlier here in the Sports thread as well...
As said, in poor light try to get the action to fill as much of the screen as possible.. so you won't need to crop the shots and stuff.

The way you should approach the shots I think depends on what you want to get. If you are after player shots, then you can just wait for the players to come to the 'right part' of the pitch.