Questions about exposing colour negative film

Name
Ben
Edit My Images
No
I've only really used black and white film in the past but I'm starting to use a lot more c41. It seems like whenever you see people using c41 they will be overexposing it by a stop at least.
I ask as I shot a roll of Ektar recently and I had some colour casts in certain photos. The majority were correct but a couple had a slight hint of green or magenta. Im assuming thats due to my exposure being a touch too dark maybe?

I have very little experience with colour negative film, and zero with Ektar, so take this with a mountain of salt, because it's purely theoretical and conjectural.

Black and white films have characteristic curves, the plot of density against exposure, and they aren't straight lines. The shadows and highlights have a different gradient to the central portion. Colour films have three emulsion layers, that react to the three primary colours. And they don't necessarily have the same curves. If/when they match up, neural colour balance. When they don't, colour casts. In practice, the differences will be in the shadow areas - the region of lowest exposure. Under expose, and more of the tonal range drops into that area.

Old film may lose sensitivity more in some layers than others, and give rise to "crossed curves" which translates to different colour casts in the shadows to the highlights.

So, my guess - and it is a guess - is that this is the source of the problem. It may be possible quickly discount this explanation by looking at the published data for Ektar - if this level of detail IS published nowadays.

Just to emphasise - this is my speculation.

Ektar is unusual in that it is sensitive to incorrect exposures, it doesn't always make a difference, as you can tell from your roll, but it is generally considered better to get it right.