Quick chat with the RSPB.

fracster

I love BRASH and BRASH loves me
Suspended / Banned
Name
Ade
Edit My Images
Yes
Copied and pasted with permission. Get your quills out and write to your mp.

My waffle first:

Sent: 01 November 2011 10:01
To: birdsmagazine
Subject: In defence of gamekeepers and landowners.

Sir,

I read your magazine with relish when I get it and am always dismayed when, rightly so, some gamekeepers are named and shamed for the ridiculous “Victorian” practices of killing birds of prey. Not all keepers are alike and, as like many other professions, the minority get bad press and the good work of many others goes unnoticed.

I worked as a gamekeeper many years ago, due to that fact I now have access to some private estates for my hobby of wildlife photography. This brings me into contact with gamekeepers on the estates, these people, whilst secretive and private people, are always willing to share knowledge and experience once you have gained their trust. They do not kill birds of prey, nor do they kill other smaller predators, they have a dislike of foxes and control them accordingly. They tell me where the sparrowhawks are nesting,where the otters are on the river, which setts the badgers are using and many other examples. In return, I tell them if I see foxes, supply them with photographs of the kingfishers on the river or the deer grazing,for example, which they hang in their houses or in the shooting lodges, these photographs of our wildlife gives them as much pleasure as they do me.

The majority of keepers do like wildlife and look after most of it.One estate has a good selection of sika deer and roe on it, these are as well looked after as any pheasant, dog men are given short shrift, the badgers are watched and the setts are checked for human activity, as is the otter holt. So, yes, they do care about all our wildlife.