Recording live music gig, with soundboard access.

Name
Dan
Edit My Images
No
I've been photographing some live music, and well the idea has come up that some videos of the performance could be useful. Not entire song performances, but snippets. Here's an example of the environment.
https://danielcook.com/2017/04/13/the-britannia-live-music-in-guildford/

I'm a complete newb to videography, so I thought I'd start with research, and the first thing I came across which won't involve too much of an investment for something that doesn't pay - would be he Zoom H4n

Connecting the Zoom H4n to the soundboard will give me the best quality audio of the performance - so what else do I need to record, audience reaction? would I simply face the Zoom H4n toward the audience for this - as I don't see the point in recording the performance with the stereo mic if I have the soundboard feed?

Then there's video, I have two cameras, both full frame with high quality glass.

Leica Q 28mm 1.7 (built in)
Leica SL with 50mm 1.4 SL and 90-280mm 2.8-4.0 SL lenses.

The SL in particular has a lot of video recording options, although I'm not sure if 50mm is the ideal focal length for this.

How should I record the video - should I move around shooting snippets, instead of setting it up on a tripod. If I choose to record video, they will still want someone as a photographer, so there will be that challenge of occupying the same spaces.

I know there will be a learning curve, but I'd like to get as much right as I can when I first attempt.

Any advice would be amazing :) thanks

Last edited:
Here's a setup 'idea'

Leica Q low down, covering stage and performance most of the time.

brit_120417 (11 of 33) by dancook1982, on Flickr

then using the Leica SL with the 50mm to capture snippets, this kind of angle.

brit_120417 (26 of 33) by dancook1982, on Flickr

So then at least we can have two angles, one of which can be a bit more flexible.