'Reliable' makes of memory cards (CF)

Name
Carl
Edit My Images
Yes
I've a couple of memory cards at the moment, 2 x 8GB Lexar CF and never had a problem. I've also used Sandisk in the past and they've been reliable too.
I've a job coming up (expenses only as i'm still a novice, and it's for a friend) that requires me being out from midday till 9pm, so im looking to add another higher capacity CF card, 16GB possibly 32GB. but as i have a very limited budget i'm wondering if it's wise to use a different, less expensive brand of card.
I've seen Kingston and transcend have 16GB CF's for around the £15-£25 range.
I won't need a particular fast card, as the job is for a friends theatre group so it'll be portrait type shots. And as its a festival i'll be taking pics all day of everything and anything to get some well needed experience!

Last edited:
Get your friend to buy you a card as part of the deal?

Sandisk

I have a pile of 16GB 600x Duracell CF cards and used them a lot in a pair of D3 bodies without any problems. There's some threads a while back going over all the read/write speeds etc. I'll see if I can dig it out for you.

The cheaper cards can be just as good as the expensive brands, as a matter of fact most of the cheaper brands are also good, but you never know which ones are good and which ones are not. I'd get a brandname card, if safety matters (which it usually does with photos).

I'm using Sandisk now and have used Kingston in the past, both without any problems other than a couple of fake Kingston's.

I think where you buy from matters as much as which brand you buy (assuming you buy a 'mainstream' brand). Having been previously bitten, I would never buy from Ebay or from Amazon Marketplace.

To get price into perspective, look at the difference in price between your various options and then divide by however many images you are likely to store on it during its lifetime.