Retro Themed Photo Opps THIS WEEKEND

TheBigYin

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
No
anyone near the Peak district might want to have a run over to this...

https://eroicabritannia.co.uk/

I'm pretty sure @badlywornroy posted up some shots from last year somewhere in the forum - not sure if it was on film or an electrical picture maker...

ETA: yep, Roy's thread was here

lots of people around in "period dress" - ie anything up to 1987, but mostly MUCH older school than that...

I was originally going to go for the ride on sunday, but couldn't get a completely rules-compliant bike together in time (i've been saying that for 3 years now, and still failed... it's PROBABLY because I'm rather picky what frame I want on the bike, and no 60cm SBDU Raleigh 531 team bike has come along at a price I can afford... I've got a bike that'll pass for the shorter rides - the 60miler looked do-able but it was a LOT of money for a days riding (about £90 on the day, including day pass to the festival and parking!) - couldn't get away for the 3-day festival, and I just couldn't quite face paying that to ride roads I can ride for free next week...)

so, this baby's probably not going to get her wheels on the gravel tomorrow... at least not with everyone else...

Raleigh, with a side order of Raleigh by The Big Yin, on Flickr

Last edited:
That takes me back

Had a Raleigh Olympus back in the early 80's, pale met blue with short ally guards
A Grifter ran in to the back of it causing itself no damage, but writing both me and the bike off.
Like juggernauts them Grifters were..:/

Had a Raleigh Olympus back in the early 80's

I remember those, late '70s ones were metalic blue, contrast bands under the silver raleigh logos, 10-20 (gaspipe) tubing - 5 speed gears and suicide brake levers on the handlebars...