Riverside portraits - C&C please

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys.
First post :)

Im fairly new to photography as an art form so here goes!.

I have found my new 90mm lens more useful for portraits than macro at the moment, ( light! )so here are the results

C&C are very welcome :)

Rick.

laura800xg0.jpg

or

laurabw800ii1.jpg

lauraface800bwvz4.jpg

lauratoungebwia9.jpg

lauraandmontybw800hr0.jpg

imgp1229copyez1.jpg

Pentax K100D, tamron 90mm macro di 2.8, PP in photoshop - mono conversion, cropping and a tiny bit of sharpening.

:eek: Fairly new?!? Hope I still know you when you are experienced then! :LOL:

I admit, portraits are not my 'thang', but they look pretty darn good to me! Th eonly one I am not sure about is the second one, looks a bit on the dark side, and #4 could possibly have done with some sort of reflector to put some more light into her eyes under the peak of the cap. But hell, if thats your starting point, look slike you are heading in the right direction to me :clap::clap:

1 is nicely exposed
3 and 4 are amazing! great expressions
5 looks a bit soft though

Very well done

Welcome to the forums :D and what a great set of photos to start with :)

I am in no means a portrait expert or even that keen on them, but as you asked for C&C, here are my opinions: (I have no idea why I am writting so formally)

1 (and 2) look a tad soft to me and I am not loving the pose, doesn't look quite as relaxed as the other shots.

3 & 4 I love :) very different shots but both done excellently in my opinion. I might have been tempted to have a slightly different background on number 4, however. Like the small depth of field (especially on number 3, though maybe it is slightly too narrow, her right eye looks slightly out of focus)

5 If the soft toy hadn't been there and the focus had been on her eyes I think this would have been my favourite of the set. Great post and eye contact and lighting looks great, good mono converstion etc