Room lights to help the ambulance lighting

Name
Neil Williams
Edit My Images
No
Guys. Is it okay to leave the lights on in the studio area where the model is posing just to help with some ambient lighting?

Attachments

• IMG_2792.jpeg
    IMG_2792.jpeg
    96.9 KB · Views: 23
Most studio flash model lights turn off during the exposure so they dont add any colour cast to the shot. If your studio lights dont have modeling light, but you need some light, maybe a decent daylight ballanced light masked down as much as possible, just enough to see and be safe.

I'm no expert, but just watch for flickering & build up the flash to meet your needs.
Are you looking to use the light in the image or just for AF/set up use?

I've seen you like f1.2, that will pick any light much quicker.

(I could be talking utter rubbish)

Are you looking to use the light in the image or just for AF/set up use?

I've seen you like f1.2, that will pick any light much quicker.

(I could be talking utter rubbish)
Gav I was seeing it they will increase the overall ambient light but they really didn't do anything to the overall shot.

take a shot with just the ambient light at the camera settings you will be using, that will show you any impact of the ambient.
This!

Check the histogram, too. You may think that the ambient isn't doing anything but you may find that it adds a colour cast to the shadows but not the highlights, That's difficult to fix.

LEDs have a few other peculiarities too; take more than one test shot to make sure there's no frame-frame variation.

Check the histogram, too. You may think that the ambient isn't doing anything but you may find that it adds a colour cast to the shadows but not the highlights, That's difficult to fix.
This can be quite relevant...