Safety in Motorsport Photography, is rallying safer?

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
There have been a few accidents in recent years in rallying where members of the public and photographers were involved.
I recently attended the Neil Howard rally at Oulton Park.
As a race photographer I am aware of certain rules and always making sure you have an escape route. I saw this photographer though doing a few things I thought were very dangerous in so far as his proximity to the line of fire and his kneeling down. Later he actually sat down and was then asked to move by one of the marshalls.
Is the attitude in rallying not as safety conscious as racing?

Neil Howard Stages Rally - Oulton Park 8th November 2014 2014 022 by Lightprism, on Flickr

All because he managed some how to get the vest doesn't mean the authorities assessed whether he had much upstairs to do it safely. Don't get me wrong, there's a large group of dedicated media togs that work within the rules not only for their safety, but also aware of their positioning when it comes to the race drivers so not to cause a distraction. Then there idiots like this who only care about getting the shot no matter what.

"Motorsport is Dangerous" says so on the ticket :D

We have all seen videos of cars ending up in the most unlikely places at the end of an accident.

You can of course say " well I think this place is not so safe" such as in a ditch on the outside of a bend, in an escape road at the end of a long straight with a sharp bend, and be clever enough not to stand there but the only way to be perfectly safe is to not attend.

I was at Santa Pod a few years ago when a spectator was killed by the ring gear from a disintegrating flywheel as the car passed the finish line. How could you have predicted that??