Samyang 85mm 1.4

Name
James
Edit My Images
No
Anyone used a samyang 85mm 1.4, what do you think and what camera did you use it on? I would be using this for portraits possibly on a d700 if I get one, what's the main differences between the nikkor alternative other than the mf and price tag, what's the quality like people say spend more on glass well I wouldn't be spending much here do you think there is a noticeable difference when shooting at f2.8 or f4 if not then mf is no problem for me as saving £1000 will be worth it

Thanks in advance for any comments

I've been using one for around 18 months, and there is no way I will ever sell it. It might be manual focus but it is sharp as ****, even at f1.4. Another plus is the bokeh is sooooo smooth.

I use it on a cropped Pentax K7, so cant even imagine how good it performs on a ff camera. It might not perform better than the Nikkor variants, but it certainly seems to be on a par with them for a fraction of the price.

I

Be careful... I think there are two versions of the lens for nikon.... One has a chip that enables metering, the other doesn't (I think!)

Still my best and sharpest lens. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. There are a few sets on my flickr with it and the d700

I drag this pic out every time, but it still amazes me.

100% crop, at f/1.4, taken through a filthy double glazed door. Pretty much no PP. I don't think it's possible to get much sharper.

Chicken 100% crop by TCR4x4, on Flickr

Last edited:
I have one for use on my D7000. Awesome sharpness, and focussing isn't an issue on the 7000, despite what some reports have said.
Very sharp, even wide open, and very nice bokeh too.
I have the "chipped version", and exposure is always spot on. Just set the lens to f22, and control the aperture from the camera.
The focussing arrows and dot works perfectly too.