Beginner Self-conscious

Name
Dominic
Edit My Images
Yes
As it says in the title, i'm a beginner. I have a problem with taking my camera out with me or out of the camera bag, i feel very self-conscious that people are watching me and thinking he hasn't got a clue what he's doing. As an example, me and the family (no kids, just oldies) went for a day out to the severn valley railway (steam trains), a good opportunity for me to get the camera out and practice on a subject that i am new to. But when we got there, the platform was full of people and many had nice expensive cameras and it's this situation that makes me self-conscious. I know we all have to start somewhere, what i'm asking really is, did anyone else feel like this and if so how did you get past it.
I'm lucky in that i can take photos around my home without anybody being around (i live on a 100 acre country estate, it's not mine, but i live and work there), this allows me practice in peace but only on wildlife, landscapes and anything you find in the countryside. This is great but i would also like nto try other types of photography.
Thanks for reading, i hope you can make sense of my ramblings.

As it says in the title, i'm a beginner. I have a problem with taking my camera out with me or out of the camera bag, i feel very self-conscious that people are watching me and thinking he hasn't got a clue what he's doing. As an example, me and the family (no kids, just oldies) went for a day out to the severn valley railway (steam trains), a good opportunity for me to get the camera out and practice on a subject that i am new to. But when we got there, the platform was full of people and many had nice expensive cameras and it's this situation that makes me self-conscious. I know we all have to start somewhere, what i'm asking really is, did anyone else feel like this and if so how did you get past it.