Setting up a darkroom.

Name
James
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok, here is probably the first of a number questions I'll be asking.

I've recently been given an enlarger by a friend and am in the process of setting up a dark room. I've managed to work out by my self that I'm missing a timer that plugs into it (or at least thats what I think that strange plug is for). What I would like to know is whether that plug is universal or standardised for all enlarger and enlarger timers.

If all my assumptions are correct so far, What kind of timer should I buy? Keeping in mind that I'm new to this and not that rich.

Also the enlarger that I've got is a Durst M 605 Colour.

Any watch or clock with second hand would do, when using a safe light for B/W. When doing your first print adjust the aperture of the enlarging lens so it doesn't expose in say under 5 secs....the reasons why? Well 1 sec out in 5 sec would make more difference than 1 sec out in 20 secs etc

I've got a Durst M605 and it's not a bad enlarger. Let me see what I did with the timer and I might be able to stick it in the for sale section for you. The M605 doesn't use a standard plug though, it uses a 2 pin instead of a 3 pin. I wasn't keen on the timer it came with so bought a Durst digital timer off of ebay and put a new plug on it.

Have you got the transformer for the enlarger?

my Durst enlarger (F60) had a std 3 pin plug on but the timer I picked up came with a euro type plug (2 pin and and earth strips on the edge).

I think my timer is a durst T60 but I would have to check, they are simple beasts though, mine is just a wind round clockwork timer on a glow in the dark face and one button for 'go'

think it cost me a tenner delivered on ebay.