Setting up a home studio

B

Bridgett

Hi Everyone
I am going to set up a studio at home, mainly for portraiture work ,especially high key. My flat has one big empty room which i am going to devote to his project so space isnt an issue (within reason) I dont envisage needing the kit to be portable in the main.
I want to but some reliable and quality equipment and am looking for some recommendations from those of you using such equip already. I have been trawling the Web for weeks and have seen kits for £300 to £2000. What brand names are good ones to trust, what must I have and what purchase pitfalls should I avoid. What wattage would I need for such work as a minimum.... etc etc etc
Any opinions and views would be appreciated.
B

Hiya, Welcome to the forum...

Iv been looking at the same thing recently and so far (For me) iv narrowed it down to the Bowens 500/500, its everything you need to start up with, 2 500w heads with 1 soft box and 1 brolly and the stands, leads ect.. the only thing you would need to sort out as far as i can see is a backdrop.. I like it for the power, you wont out grow it too quickly and it'll be just as good for a single portrait or a group shot..

This is just my research, and not from experience you understand.. iv looked at them in a shop (Calumet) and they seem very good quality... But not cheap.. they are about the £750 area..

Good luck in the quest.. im sure someone with more knowlage than me will turn up and point you in the right direction..

The Elinchrom Dlite4's have been popular amongst TP'ers (see here). I'm looking at the DLite 2 kit when money permits, which is almost the same just a bit less powerful.

The interfit flash kits are supposed to be quite good for the money - they do an EXD200 kit which is £299.

With the money you save, you can invest in some backdrops, stands, etc.

I'm having a serious think about the d-lite4's too

just waiting for glen to post a pic of his set up in a home environment :D