Beginner ShawAcademy - Diploma in Photography

Edit My Images
Yes
So for fathers day this year I was given an online photography 'diploma' course with the Shaw Academy. I know my wife had it through Groupon and that it was cheap (£20 I think) and after looking at some of the reviews on the old interweb I was a little sceptical.

I should clarify before I go on that I am a total beginner....only had my DSLR for just over a month, I'm very much still trying to get my head around all the controls and terminology and the various things I should or shouldn't be doing...

So anyway, the course. Its an online based course consisting of 10 modules. 8 of them are live 'webinars' so where you watch a presentation with a tutor talking over the top and you have a messenger type box so the students can interact, ask questions etc. These are also recorded and can be watched back if you can't make the live ones. The other 2 are on demand pre recorded.

So I'm only 2 modules in, the first was very basic and introduced you to the various camera types and the various forms of photography. The 2nd which I did last night was all about lenses and the different focal lengths and angles of view and how that compares to the human eye ... and I have to say I learned so much from that 1 hour lesson .. I actually came away thinking to myself that I now understood something that I had no clue about prior to the course.

I'm really looking forward to the next few weeks and the remaining modules. I honestly believe that I will come out of the other end, a better 'photographer' or at least have a great understanding of the principles of photography and hopefully understand how I can take this camera that I own and actually use it to its fullest.

So if you like me are clueless and new to this topic and want a way of learning at least some of this complicated subject then I would thoroughly recommend one of these courses.

That is all...

Thanks for reading.