Shooting (properly) for YouTube

Edit My Images
Yes
Hello.

After a 7 year gap, I'm back! Anyway...

I'm looking to shoot some YouTube videos. They are cooking based, in a professional kitchen. I can't/won't do cheap and nasty (using a phone to hosepipe around with horrible audio). I used to work as a broadcast cameraman. However I do need to keep costs down.

I was thinking:

Two cameras. One locked off wide shot across the kitchen island. The other, to one side hand held to get to VOX and close ups/cut aways. First camera would have an FX mic, the presenter would wear a mic connected to second camera.

Simple lighting, can't afford real 3 or 4 point lighting. Bounce something?

Editing: timecode or sync, not my area. Software? Need new laptop.

Any suggestions, ideas, things to avoid please.

Total budget £3-4k.

I would have a look at the Blackmagic pocket 4K you can get 2 for about £2400 with media and they come with the full version of Davinci Resolve for the editing. You can adapt these to the lens mount of your choice with with Viltrox adapters at £25- 80 each depending on the mount.

The camera has very good internal audio and so you can record ambient to one channel and the voice to the other in the same camera. A rodelink wireless mic is about £260 for voice and Rode NT5 for the ambient about £145. If you connect both of these into the static cam it will save you a lot of time syncing this up. You can then record scratch audio to the mobile camera, the software should then be able to sync the 2 sets of footage fairly simply. You can run the cameras on timecode but would need a TC generator at about £220 and probably isn't neccesary.

A couple of used tamron 17-50 f/2.8 lenses will cost you about £150 ea. and give you great results.