Should I take A-Level photography?

planetjamez

Name
James
Edit My Images
No
So its time for me to take my A-Level options and photography is one i'm not certain of. We have to enter a 20-30 photo portfolio to try and get 1 of 30 options. I've looked through some of last years work and its very portrait heavy, something i've never done before. Apparently they've had A* wildlife and landscape photographers go through. They also study other photographers and use their style which im not sure about! Any thoughts?

I would choice it if you like Photography, I know a fair amount of friends that have took it and it must be said its not easy. There is alot of work Involved but if you enjoy Photography I would pic it (y) Iam nearly at that stage myself on 5 months left...But I will be looking to go and do a Diploma myself in Photography (y)

It's an A level it's not meant to be easy, and I'm sure they do not expect a full portfolio from you before they have taught you. Making money from photography is (I believe) is more difficult than ever so if ths what you want to do any qualification is going to help

Hi,

I did AS & A2 level photography at 6th form. It's a lot more work that I though and one of the critical points I think is that a lot of the actual work has to be done in your own time, ie going out an getting the photos. There is a lot of writing involved and as you mention you have to research other photographers and show that you have taken inspiration from their work. You can do this through either going out and taking a fresh set of photos and drawing links or editing them in photoshop.

I was lucky in the fact that in my A2 level I was allowed to pick my own subject area and I chose movement which was something that I had a lot of photos that I could already use.

It's hard work but good fun and rewarding if you get it right.