Sigma 105mm vs Tamron 90mm

D

Dappa44

I'm currently faced with a dilemma, which macro to buy.

Ive read nothing but stonking reviews for both lenses but as i'm new to photography i want to ask for your advice.

I will be buying from onestop digital as the prices cant be beaten.
Sigma 105mm @ £229 delivered
Tamron 90mm @ £199 delivered

So, which would you buy and why please?

probably the sigma, image quality and the slightly longer focal length. In reality though there's nothing between them.

I'd pay the extra £30 for the sigma just because it feels nicer to work with. That's important to me, as enjoying the process of making an image is just as much of why I do it as the result.

I doubt you could split them for image quality though.

As others have said I would go with the Siggy, the little bit of extra focal length will come in handy.

I'm currently faced with a dilemma, which macro to buy.

Ive read nothing but stonking reviews for both lenses but as i'm new to photography i want to ask for your advice.

I will be buying from onestop digital as the prices cant be beaten.
Sigma 105mm @ £229 delivered
Tamron 90mm @ £199 delivered

So, which would you buy and why please?

I chose the Sigma because of all the good reviews and i liked the feel of it, still struggling to use it at 1:1 with such a shallow DOF, @2.6mm at f11 but i will get there with practice

I don,t own eithier but i,ve always read very good reports about the tamron,and it always seems to win in budget macro lens reviews.

I chose the Tamron based on the consensus at Fred Miranda but they're obviously both very good. One thing I know about the Tamron that may be better than the sigma is that it takes a Raynox MSN-202 lens very well and this takes it to 4:1 I think (very close anyway)... The sigma may also take this adapter lens too but I don't know.