Beginner Sigma 150-500 F5, 0-6, 3 DG HSM for Nikon D5100?

Name
Rebecca
Edit My Images
Yes
I was asking about a nikon AF-S 70-300 before but would also like to know if anyone knows anything about this tele? for tennis photos, outdoors players moving about 10-20 metres away from me? apart from the weight and price what is the difference between this and a lighter 70-300? I am a beginner so need help please.

apart from the weight and price what is the difference between this and a lighter 70-300?
Well, the most obvious difference is that one is 70-300mm and the other is 150-600mm.

This affects how much you can get in your frame, and potentially to a critical extent.

Let's say you want to get a full-length picture of a player serving, like this one of Serena Williams.
http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/photo/2015-01/31/c_133961373.htm

The field of view of that picture is roughly 3m tall. So to get that without cropping, your distance from the subject needs to be (roughly):
9m away with a 70m lens
20m away with a 150mm lens
40m away with a 300mm lens
60m away with a 500mm lens

Or say you want to get a tight crop like this photo of Roger Federer in the Guardian:
http://www.theguardian.com/sport/20...ai-duty-free-tennis-borna-coric-tomas-berdych

The field of view of that picture is roughly 1m wide. So to get that without cropping, your distance from the subject needs to be (roughly):
3m away with a 70m lens
6m away with a 150mm lens
12m away with a 300mm lens
20m away with a 500mm lens

This is all very approximate, but I hope it gives you a feel for it.

thanks for this and for me to understand very easy and clear explanation