1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Here are a few 'test' shots taken to try out a new AFMA setting, only garden stuff I am afraid. The flower shot is interesting as a pseudo semi-macro taken at the full 600mm from around the MFD.

    goldfinch01.jpg

    flower 1.jpg

    pigeon1.jpg

    dunn1.jpg
     
    Derek020560 likes this.
  2. jshen808

    jshen808

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Thanks, Roy! I read a google translated version of the pdf manual for the Contemporary, but thought the video would be nice to see. I'm still waiting for my Contemporary, Nikon version. Am thinking, once I receive one, to connect it to either one of my Nikon 1 V2 or J3 cameras via a FT-1 adaper. The Nikon 1's has a 2.7x crop factor, making the 150-600mm equivalent to 405-1620mm :clap:.

    Cheers, John

    BTW.. great shots of the above pictures, Roy!
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2015
  3. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,155
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The Nikon 1 can be a bit funny about what it will work with,be interesting if it works with the C,mine works with the Sigma 50-500 but not my tamron 150-600.
     
  4. jshen808

    jshen808

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Thanks! I read the 150-600mm Sports works using Nikon 1, so I'm hopeful will work with the Contemporary. :)
     
  5. seriousrikk

    seriousrikk

    Messages:
    6,281
    Name:
    Richard
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Little bit happy. Currently on my desk is a nice new 150-600mm C hooked up to the Sigma dock.

    First impression, Sigma have really upped their game with build quality. Overall seems like a damn fine lens, and just in time for a week off work...

    Now I just need to start relearning how to take photos of feathered and furry things in the wild.
     
  6. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Took a lot of shots with a 1.4x tc attached to the Siggy C yesterday. Here is just one of them to give you an idea of how the IQ stands up at the full 840mm. It AF's very well.
    gold1 at 840mm x 1200px.jpg
     
    Derek020560 likes this.
  7. JBuk

    JBuk

    Messages:
    466
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Quite tempted by this lens but I'd probably only use it a few times

    Hmmm
     
  8. seriousrikk

    seriousrikk

    Messages:
    6,281
    Name:
    Richard
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Roy, what body are you using?

    I'm tempted to pick up the 1.4 but want to make sure my 5d3 will AF ok.
     
  9. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    That shot on post #126 was taken using the 5D3 Richard, I have also used a 1.4x tc with the 7D2 - both work fine. The AF is slower than the bare lens of course but well usable. BTW I am using a Canon 1.4x tc MkII - I do not know about other converters although I have heard that the Sigma tc is not that good with this lens on a Canon body which is very strange!
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2015
  10. jshen808

    jshen808

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Using Nikon D3300 and Contemporary. I did micro adjustments, below are my current settings, I hope to be able to tweak it some more, but I am pleased with the current results.

    Feet (ft): 9.2ft/20ft/48ft/100+ft (please fill in for meters)
    150mm:+6/+8/+10/+10
    250mm:+6/+6/+6/+6
    400mm:+4/+4/+4/+4
    600mm:+4/+6/+8/+8

    I based my settings on a person who has the Sport and Nikon D810, he used FoCal for calibration, I used his settings as a guide for me, below are his settings..

    Feet (ft): 9.2ft/20ft/48ft/100+ft (please fill in for meters)
    150 mm: +14/+16/+18/+18
    250 mm: +12/+11/+11/+11
    400 mm: +6/+6/+6/+6
    600 mm: +6/+13/+18/+18

    Here is a picture taken yesterday with my current micro adjustments. I also found if I changed the image size selection of my camera from large "L" (24mp) to medium "M" (13mp), the images are better. I think the higher mega pixels can be more demanding from the lens. I hope if we can calibrate the Contemporary to become a "perfect" lens, maybe try to change back to the large 24mp setting again. Please click on the link below..

    http://www.pbase.com/image/160373799/original

    Cheers, John
     
  11. jshen808

    jshen808

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  12. guess&press

    guess&press

    Messages:
    266
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  13. jshen808

    jshen808

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  14. guess&press

    guess&press

    Messages:
    266
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    @jshen808: Thanks. Turns out the problem was at my end. I'm using 'https everywhere' and it stopped the images loading. First time it's happened and I'll look out for it in future.

    Some sharp images there and you don't seem to be having any noise problems, which I encountered with a D3200-Sigma 150-500 setup. Not sure if that's the lens, the sensor or the Hawaiian sunshine! :)
     
  15. jshen808

    jshen808

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    LOL's! I have both the D3200 and D3300 cameras, the D3300 seems to handle "noise" a bit better than the D3200, but the D3200 is good too. :) ..Thank you very much for your compliment! :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2015
  16. seriousrikk

    seriousrikk

    Messages:
    6,281
    Name:
    Richard
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well, I've now had me lens just over a week and been out with it a few times.

    I am very impressed with the performance, considering what the lens actually costs. So far I don't think I have missed any shots because of the lens, all errors have been down to me.
     
    snerkler likes this.
  17. JBuk

    JBuk

    Messages:
    466
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Just caved in an ordered one

    Now the question is when I go to RIAT do I put a d7200 on the end of it or my d800
     
  18. KAS

    KAS

    Messages:
    213
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Mega impressed. I'm debating between the Sigma and Tamron and on this evidence the Simga wins. I'm using the Canon 100-400mm mk1 and I want more reach. The weight is a concern and lack of weatherproof. I have also thought about the Sport vision which is even heavier. After seing all these images I am leaning towards the Sigma (C).

    Are these photos handheld.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2015
  19. micloi

    micloi

    Messages:
    4,903
    Name:
    Michael
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yes, all of my photos are handheld
     
  20. Gadget-Guy

    Gadget-Guy

    Messages:
    1,205
    Name:
    Glen
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Would be intrested to know how the A/F speed compares against the 400 f5.6?

    Have a couple of friends now that have invested in the C and S versions for motorsport but are keeping rather quiet about how it performs against Primes although one has changed his 500 f4 for the Sport version to limit lens changes trackside.
     
  21. micloi

    micloi

    Messages:
    4,903
    Name:
    Michael
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    If you set the limiter correctly using the dock (for example I have c2 set for fast AF acquisition and the limiter at 20m) it is very fast. I used that setting yesterday for the Cosford air show and it worked fantastically).
     
  22. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,620
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I've never used the dock so not sure how it works, but why would you have a setting for AF speed, surely it should just be set to the fastest possible at all times shouldn't it?
     
  23. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    No, you have a choice between speed or focus accuracy - with 'Speed' you may not be quite in focus whereas with 'Focus' it will make sure it is in focus before letting you fire the shutter. This is similar to the choices on most of the modern day Cameras With Canon it is called Image priority. Speed is fine when you want to instantly rattle off a quick burst but Focus is best if you want spot -on focus accuracy (although the burst speed may suffer).
     
  24. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Here is a pseudo macro taken with the 'C' at the full 600mm and near the MFD. Camera used 7D2

    black1.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2015
  25. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,620
    Edit My Images:
    No
    That's all very confusing as I thought it was the camera that dictated whether the shutter was focus or release? On my D750 at least there's a setting for this, so it shouldn't (in theory) take a shot unless it's in focus with how I have it set. Does the lens 'over-rule' this then, or am I missing something (usually the case ;))
     
  26. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Its not really clear which one takes priority but I play safe and have 'Focus' set on both Camera and lens. If I want 'speed' I just set it in Camera and switch the Dock settings off (or you could have C1 for focus and C2 for speed).
     
    snerkler likes this.
  27. JBuk

    JBuk

    Messages:
    466
    Edit My Images:
    No
    How does everyone carry this lens round when shooting, is it too heavy to rely on the body and strap?
     
  28. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,620
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I plan on using a sling strap if/when I buy one. I contacted Nikon a while ago and they said the tripod mount on the D750 is strong enough to hold my 70-200mm F2.8 VRII and SB-700 flash which is slightly heavier than the 150-600mm. Tamron also told me the tripod mount of their lens is strong enough to take the weight too so I would imagine that the sigma one should, but obviously can't confirm this.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2015
  29. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I use a black rapid strap, been using it for over 4 years now including with heavier lenses than the Siggy C.
     
  30. JBuk

    JBuk

    Messages:
    466
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Thanks

    Which model of black rapid is it, there's so many heh

    Do you have it attached to body or lens?
     
  31. Roy C

    Roy C

    Messages:
    3,377
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I have the curved one RS-7 very comfortable. You attach it to the tripod foot with the supplied fastener. For smaller lenses you attach to the Camera body Some folk also like to use a tether as a fail safe which just connects to one of the Camera strap points and the BR strap.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2015
    htid likes this.
  32. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,620
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I have modified one of these tethers, I've removed the string and attached these instead as I can just unclip it rather than having to take it off every time I want to take my camera off the strap, such as swapping lenses over. I already had the joby tether, but I guess you could just buy the clip loops and a standard carabiner. I've seen some folk just attach the loop clips to the carabiner of the sling strap, but this of course won't help anything if the carabiner breaks. I feel my way is just a little more fail safe :oops: :$

    I actually have the q-strap neo, by far the most comfortable sling strap I've tried.
     
  33. JBuk

    JBuk

    Messages:
    466
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Mine just arrived, it's a beast! And the sport is bigger and heavier? Jeez

    Only had time to take a few snaps, iq seems very good at 600 mm
     
  34. KAS

    KAS

    Messages:
    213
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Bought it and it ariives tomorrow. Thanks for all the posts and pictures they helped me decide.
     
  35. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,620
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I thought I'd decided on this lens but the £100 cash back on the Tammy is hard to overlook :banghead:
     
    Traubrey likes this.
  36. KAS

    KAS

    Messages:
    213
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Does anyone know where I can get a lens coat?
     
  37. Gadget-Guy

    Gadget-Guy

    Messages:
    1,205
    Name:
    Glen
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Managed to get one on loan from a friend for a week to try,am still after a big white again but wouldn't mind one for trips out with my boys when not at race weekends.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Derek020560 likes this.
  38. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,620
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Nice images, especially the first.
     
  39. Gadget-Guy

    Gadget-Guy

    Messages:
    1,205
    Name:
    Glen
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Many thanks and all hand held back garden birds at the moment but will see how it copes with fast bikes the next two days.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Last one is a large crop!!!
     
    Derek020560 likes this.
  40. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,620
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Fast bikes, now we're talking (y)
     
    Gadget-Guy likes this.

Share This Page