Beginner SKY SKY SKY!!

Name
jason
Edit My Images
Yes
I am a complete beginner. I think I can take an ok photo IMO, subject matter, angle of shot etc. Camera settings im getting there. The one thing that lets most of my photos down is the sky! Bland, white, featureless! I do live in the NE of England and some say it is grim up North but I wish I could make my pics a bit more "arty". Is this purely a Photshop skill? Here is an example taken with my Nikon D3200, new Nikon prime 35mm f1.8, set on manual, no flash, ISO 100 about 4pm dusk. RAW. Please feedback on how you think I could improve. Im not easily offended.

Have a look into getting a set of Graduated filters. They'll help you retain the detail in the sky and stop it from blowing out.…

Danny, there are not so much details in this
mournful sky!

Jason, if I may suggest with DRL setting:

skyskyskypp.jpg

Last edited:

Danny, there are not so much detail in this
mournful sky!

Jason, if I may suggest with DRL setting:

skyskyskypp.jpg

Very true - the pictures weren't loading for me before but I can see them now. The main issue looks like poor light. Filters will also only help if there is detail (clouds) in the sky to retain - in this case there doesn't seem to be.

You can't capture what is not there. If you want dramatic skies then you need to go out when the skies are more interesting. If the skies are interesting and you're still getting blank skies then you're getting the exposure wrong for the sky and you'll either need to do HDR (but please do it subtly) or use ND grad filters.

What is DRl setting? I also struggle to choose focal points. In regards to the tyre photo above, the focus point is on the centre wheel nut through the tyre. This is my biggest failure when taking multi-subject photos and landscapes etc. The camera has several focus point options and this really confuses me. This is probably a subject for another thread...

Last edited: