Soft Len on my 40D ?

Name
Barry
Edit My Images
Yes
After 7 Yrs of faithful service from my trusty Casio QV3000 P&S, I decided it was time to upgrade to a DSLR camera & last week I bought a 40D, wow what an amazing camera !
I decided to go for the Canon 18-55 IS lens after reading Photozone review but after downloading the first few pics
was disappionted on how soft the photos were. Am I being too fussy ? I'm attempting to link some photos, but don't be too suprised if it fails as I've never done it before. All shots were jpg's straight from the camera, the only processing was to reduce them for TP
I do appreciate that they can be improved by PP & have done so, but I just want to get the best original image ( can't afford L lens )
Is the lens soft ? I would appreciate any guidence :bonk:

IMG_0084.jpg
IMG_0085.jpg
IMG_00631.jpg
IMG_00551.jpg
IMG_0033_2.jpg

I think they are great shots. I am far from experience but could you be asking a lot from that lens in those situations?

Those are demanding scenes that perhaps require slightly better lenses to compete with some of the shots you see in this forum. I'd be happy with them I can tell you. You could also try raw and see if you can capture more detail than the Jpeg's offer.

I've got a 17-85 lens and found that going down a couple of stops increased the sharpness of the pics straight from the camera...or maybe it was a good day when I experimented :shrug:

pearce jj said:
what f-stop are you using?
#1 - f16
#2 - f16
#3 - f16
#4 - f11
#5 - f7

These don't look too soft to me. If you want to make if sharper, you can always change the picture style settings - one of which being the sharpness - by going to picture styles in the menu, choosing a picture style, and then altering how sharp every picture taken with that picture style is.

A most enjoyable set of images which bring back memories of the island from when I lived there.

Are a couple of the images from Chale beach towards Freshwater?