Some lighting confusion.....

Name
Doug
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone,

This is my first 'talk photography' post, so my apologies if it's long winded!

I'm not new to photography or flash photography, however I am new to studio lighting and have some simple'ish questions. This is purely hobbie stuff, so no company profits on the line here. ;)

Previous home studio setups have used direct continuous lighting which works fine, but obviously cooks the subject! I want to work a bit smarter, so here's what I've currently got:

• Nikon D80 (Various lenses)
  • White Muslin Backdrop for 'High Key' type shots
  • Nikon SB600 Flash
  • 2 x Lighting stands
  • 2 x flash/umbrella tilt mounts
  • 6 x Umbrellas (reflectors and shoot throughs)

And here are the questions:

Second Lamp Technology - One option is to just get another SB600 and add it to the wireless group controlled by the D80. My concern is that it wouldn't be as capable or powerful as a dedicated flash head?

Learning Curve Manual vs iTTL - I want to learn but I don't want kit that I will grow out of in 6 months. Naturally the Dual SB600 option takes away the need to learn to a certain extent, because I can rely on iTTL and basic compensations without measuring distances and apertures etc. However, I think it might be character building and more interesting to get a flash head and have to manually calculate distances and measure f-stops etc. Any comments?

Light Meter - I'm assuming I don't need one if I use the SB600s but would if I go for flash heads?

Triggering - My SB600 is wireless and works great with no mis-fires. Could any flash head act as a slave and react to the flash from my pop-up or SB600? or wouldn't I want this? Secondly, if I need to add a hotshoe trigger then won't that interfere with using my pop-up as a commander for the SB600? Does that make sense?

Think that's about it........ for now...lol

Any help will be greatly appreciated. :D