Some more candids - does the composition work?

CJR

Name
Cathy
Edit My Images
Yes
From the Calder Vale 10 Mile race on Good Friday.

First shot - I liked the guy using his modern phone against the window with the old advert and phone number. I would prefer the whole window frame to be included, but there was a pram underneath the window, which obscured much of the bottom of the frame. I composed to leave as little of the pram as possible (as I am not good at cloning and couldn't reconstruct the corner of the frame) but as a result, I think the man is too low in the image. :shrug:

CVale_005.jpg

Second shot - inside the village hall, where tired cold runners and spectators were having tea and cake. I was squashed against the wall opposite these three, with people seated at tables in between us, so no chance of a different pov. Nevertheless, I like these three, and the cupboards, the wonky knots board, and the flag. It's a bit oof because of the low shutter speed with a non IS lens, but again, does the composition work? I like it, but others feel it doesn't quite work - too much space at the top, the guy looking out of the picture on the left spoils it, .... :thinking:

CVale_019.jpg

Many thanks - and please be honest!!

Cathy

the first one i like, i don't think the missing bottom of the window frame matters i like the contrast of old and new. The second one looks more snap shot than candid to me.

i think the first may have looked better at a different angle and the 2nd i think the same as the last post. liooks like a normal shot

Thanks very much for the comments, image29 and Toothie.

Just out of interest, what difference do you see between a snapshot of people, and a candid shot of people? I'm just curious to know ... :thinking: Is it because the guys in 2 know I'm taking their picture?

Cathy