Beginner Some thoughts from a beginner

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
Yes
My second post - so be gentle with me :)

I thought I would post a few things here as it may provide information to other beginners (although I have little experience, but it is fresh :) )

I spent a month trying to identify what camera I should buy - in the end I went for a Sony A6000 as it is light and small enough for me to carry anywhere and is a solid performer.

I almost bought a Canon EOS M - just picking one up almost convinced me as it felt so good in the hand.

The key features that I really like on my new camera are the adjustable screen and the EVF. The Canon had neither and after using the A6000 I can say I would really have missed them.

The adjustable screen really helps me to get low / high or tight in shots when my old back just would not let me do it with a view finder or fixed screen. If the screen was not adjustable then I would really have suffered when trying to take some photos of my daughters kitten at the weekend. I could just sit on the settee and drop the camera to floor level with the screen angled up. I was even drinking tea whilst tommy gunning the kitten in burst mode :D (just a shame you can't turn off the shutter sound - it did kind of spook the subject)

The view finder did come in very handy when the sun was really bright in some woods on Saturday. It also makes previewing photos already taken very easy - especially if you are trying to show the photos to someone who is even older and blinder than yourself!

I suppose the point here is that the camera I originally planned on buying (EOS M) would just not have suited me - maybe if I was younger and more supple :)

I didn't really consider what I would be photographing or how I would be doing it - I got lucky with my purchase but could have easily made a wrong purchase.

Dave.