Someone please educate me....

Name
Kevin
Edit My Images
No
I'm considering getting one of these: http://store.apple.com/uk/configure/MB604B/A?mco=MzA3MTEzMw

Now I've ALWAYS been a pc bloke and have no experience apple at all. I'm going to probably sound a prat now, but will I have to replace all of my present software with apple equivelents? Are the machines reliable? I need somone with some knowledge of them to educate me as to why its the right move. :shrug:

Thanks

Kev.

p.s what spec would you recommend? (mainly photo editing.)

reliability??

Well i think that other laptops (dell / tosh / hp etc etc) are just as reliable hardware wise. However..... the OS is a lot more stable on apples and does not crash (unlike the M$ OS's)

Afraid so mate, all of your software will be redundant and you will need to obtain Mac alternatives.
Im no expert on this but I wouldnt have thought the likes of Adobe would allow you to swap your license over to a Mac version of the software without any costs.

I have used both Mac and PC exstensively for many years now and the only thing I can say about a Mac is that it simply works.... The amount of time spent messing about with my PC to get things to work and update settings etc then restart is far too much for my liking, yet when I had a Mac it did what I wanted it to do and when I wanted to do it.
This is the main reason I have decided to sod work off and go back to Mac. I had to go back to PC so I could use certain software at home etc but what I am going to do is just keep a laptop here for when I need to do work stuff and the Mac will be my main computer for my photo editing etc.

as regards spec, if you have the budget max it out - otherwise the default is good.

also for that budget you could get a bloody decent spec desktop and a great screen which would be far better than the 17" on the notebook...Just worth a thought if your not tied to using a laptop