Beginner Splash, a mess around with water.

Edit My Images
Yes
My second ever attempt at water photography. Not the best, but looking for advice and stuffs.

And yes, that is a cricket ball. :(

b5eL7no.jpg

Lqekyj9.jpg
SQWGkkr.jpg
47tYcmI.jpg

Whilst I am no expert in this field, or any other come to think of it, I do not think the angle of which your are taking the photo helps, as you are not overly able to make out the splash from the background. Try placing your camera lower to get as much of a side on view as you can. Also try and have a back ground that will allow the water to be shown up.

On the plus side, you seemed to have managed to get the focus and timing.

I strongly agree with you there, I just had no other way of getting a better angle due to the container used. I am aiming to get a clear fishtank sometime soon to use, maybe that will be better?

Why use such a large object to create the splash?
What lens are you using?
I used a metal mixing bowl, filled to the brim with water, sat on an upturned bowl in the kitchen sink and just allowed the tap to slowly drip into the water.
Behind the bowl I had a blue chopping board, to give some contrast and colour against the water.
I used a 60mm macro, with the camera mounted on a tripod.
The camera was set to manual mode and focus.
The timing was just trying to hit the shutter button when I thought.

There are some great images on flickr but this is one of the best I have managed so far.

View attachment 38727

I'll give it a shot, thank you so much for your help and advice. It's my first time doing this alone. I need the practice. ;)

What is it you wanted to achieve?
If it was the Splash Crown then a cricket ball is far too big.
Try just doing water on water.
If however you wanted to get a little colour then best to use something like fruit or parts of fruit and drop them into a glass with your camera level with the middle of the glass or whatever you use.