sRGB or Adobe RGB in camera setting?

Name
Martin
Edit My Images
Yes
Do you have a preference on setting this in camera?

If so, is there a particular reason for it.

As far as I`m aware, doesn`t the adobe rgb have a wider range or color, or is that a load of nonsence?

Do you have a preference on setting this in camera?

If so, is there a particular reason for it.

As far as I`m aware, doesn`t the adobe rgb have a wider range or color, or is that a load of nonsence?

Most people tend to leave it on sRGB afaik - but I'm not a colour expert by any means! Check out a member on here by the name of pxl8 (I think!) - he is your man and has a link in his signature to a good explaination of the different issues involved. (y)

If you are printing straight off, then SRGB will do, because the printer settings will not reach the wider gamut of Adobe RGB.

If you are working on your pictures, even a little bit, and if you want the very best out of them, then use Adobe RGB. If you use Adobe and don't work on them, you lose nothing that you wouldn't have done with the other system anyway....so really, Adobe is the better route, but sRGB will still provide good pictures.

But if you are shooting in RAW it don't matter 'till you convert to jpeg or whatever because that's when you make the choice.

I have mine set to Adobe...not that it matters because I shoot in RAW anyway.
Howver, on export from RAW to TIFF, I'm set to Adobe, and only convert to sRGB for the final web version :)

`Scuse the ignorance, why convert to sRGB for web use?

Because it is more widely accepted by web browsers, there are only a few browsers that would actually use the Adobe profile if it was embedded, so therefore unless you want your pictures to appear quite different under different browsers it is just generally accepted to use sRGB for web use.