Starter kit tomorrow, good idea ?

Name
Jon
Edit My Images
No
Hello talk|photography people !

I stumbled across your board during a google trawl searching for information.

I'm a total newbie to DSLR's and photography in general but was thinking about going out tomorrow and getting some gear to kick off with.

Now I was looking at a Nikon D90 but I'm thinking that might be a bit to much money to spend for a first camera. I am now thinking of getting a Canon 450d +55mm IS Len kit, it seems like a decent camera with plently of features to keep me learning for a couple of years, am I right?

I don't wanna skimp on buying anything too cheap which I'll grow out of to quick and I don't wanna spend to much and regret it.

Any help would be greatfully received.

Cheers.
Jon.

I have a 450D and its pretty decent. The body is good enough to ensure that any further investments you make in the first year or two will likely be glass. For a beginner, I think its an excellent choice. I'm certainly not done with mine yet, and I'm sure it will be a while before I make the upgrade.

I have a 450D and its pretty decent. The body is good enough to ensure that any further investments you make in the first year or two will likely be glass. For a beginner, I think its an excellent choice. I'm certainly not done with mine yet, and I'm sure it will be a while before I make the upgrade.

Another vote for the 450D, i`ve been into photography for 25 years and the camera is great, not that I wouldn`t upgrade if I was loaded. :LOL:

Hi...and welcome to the forum(y)

You won't go far wrong with the 450D(y) One thing I would suggest is that you go to a camera shop and get a feel for all the cameras in your price range and see which feels best in your hands;) We can all suggest different makes to you (Canon, Nikon, Sony,Olympus etc) but you won't really know which one is right for you until you can get them in your hands and see how they "fit";)