Street lighting, first attempt

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
Yes
Not sure what the picture is trying to 'say', but it seemed a nice scene as I left work last night! As a newbie, I would appreciate your comments/suggestions.

BunnsBank03.jpg

I'm not sure it needs to say anything. It's a nice atmospheric shot with the lights and the sheep silhouetted against the low lying mist. Give yourself a pat on the back - well spotted. (y)

Thanks for the encouraging comment.

There were 2 rather uncooperative sheep on the left, so I removed them. The one on the far left, I think I did an OK job, but there is some poor cloning in the area below the chimney. Otherwise, the image is straight off the camera.

When this appeared on my monitor I could only see down to the window lights on the rhs. I didn't think it was a bad picture but as I scrolled the sheep appeared. They really make the image particularly the two standing. As said above - well spotted

Steve,

On a purely technical note we don't see street lighting as orange as that - our brains filter it out in the same way that they ignore the orange casts in room shots under tungsten lights. When we're confronted with a flat two dimensional image though the orange cast is obvious which is why we have the different white balance settings in cameras.

This first edit is setting the wb to a daylight setting and using a cast correction filter - I suspect it's pretty close to how the scene actually looked?

wb correct. by tonky8203, on Flickr

This is something that I find works well for correcting street shots with the orange cast, while at other times it doesn't and I just embrace the orange cast as the better option although it does bug the hell out of me.

The other option is a B&W conversion. This one was done by splitting the image to the red green and blue channels - this being the green channel image which looked the best.and a bit better than a straight greyscale conversion, but not by much.

Green1 by tonky8203, on Flickr