Studio Lighting & The Boring Side Of Fashion Photography

Name
April 2008
Edit My Images
No
Ok, have had considerable help from everyone here (many thanks already) setting up a studio at work (see here), and we're now taking our first shots. First up, I was hoping for some crit...

The images aren't supposed to be exciting. They are stock catalogue shots aimed at showing the garment clearly, in focus, under good lighting.

Setup is one of those enormous Lastolite HiLite backgrounds (kinda like a giant softbox) with two Lencarta 300J flash heads lighting this. Then another head camera right with softbox aiming straight at the manequin, and another head camera left with shootthru brolly. Don't ask me why one is a softbox and one is a brolly. We just have one softbox, so that's really the reason. :LOL: As you can see... complete noob (or possible nob) here just experimenting.

Anyways, the thing that's bugging me slightly is the 'glow' from the background. I am guessing this is fairly unavoidable given it's illumination and our lack of space for moving further away from the background.

It's most noticeable on the sleeve shot (#2) where the back half is illuminated more than the front and even blending into the background in a couple of places. And also on the light knit (#3) where the sleeves are glowing!

Any thoughts, comments, most greatfully appreciated.

3234373848_fc0fc431a0_o.jpg

3234373852_161946e5af_o.jpg

3234373858_15729da694_o.jpg

Oh... all these are straight from camera, shot jpeg for speed of workflow and merely cropped to size and resaved. There has been NO PP, and the manequin was not moved to take the sleeve shot. This is all about speed of workflow... dress manequin, fire off one shot for each position, upload, crop, save. Job's done!

The lighting arrangement is fine as it is. The problem is that the background is overexposed and excess light is providing excessive backlight to your subject.