Beginner Study photography

Name
Diogo
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello guys,

Recently I have been thinking in investing more in my photography. I was thinking and searching the market for courses and degrees.

I work full time as a nurse so I have random shifts so classes are very difficult to go to.

I was looking for something online maybe.

Any recommendation?

I am living in Southampton by the way
Cheers guys.

I really don't know where do you live But in California Santa Monica College has a weekend course

Southampton is on the south coast of the UK! You'll find a huge number of UK-based users on this forum. If local information is important to you, you could try http://photography-on-the.net/forum/

Sorry OP, sounds like a challenge, but you could probably start with joining a camera club, then getting some books. Paying for qualifications gets you a taught course by a human (hopefully), but qualifications doesn't necessarily equal results.

Last edited:
Hello guys,

Recently I have been thinking in investing more in my photography. I was thinking and searching the market for courses and degrees.

I work full time as a nurse so I have random shifts so classes are very difficult to go to.

I was looking for something online maybe.

Any recommendation?

I am living in Southampton by the way
Cheers guys.

What do you want to shoot?
Is the aim to shoot professionally?
What do you think you will learn online that you don't already know or taking more pictures won't improve?

If you specifically want degree type study while also holding down a full time (albeit shift work) job, then worth looking at Open University which gives you flexibility - though no idea what their arts/photography courses are like. There is also the Open College of Arts but I have no idea what they are like.

Last edited:
Open college of the arts are good, depending on tutor, but since the university fees have risen, so have their courses, from £550 a module to over £1600, possible more now.